End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Contents:

Curriculum Vitae


Michaela Wolf is Associate Professor of Translation Studies at the University of Graz, Austria.

She trained as a translator and interpreter (Italian and English) at the University of Graz, taking her B.A. degree in 1977 and her M.A. in 1979. After working in several companies as a translator and interpreter, she began her Ph.D. studies at the Department of Romance Philology and took her Ph.D. in 1986 (Renaissance literature; Italian and Spanish).
Between 1987 and 1991 she worked in an Austrian Scientific Fund project on the manuscripts of linguist Hugo Schuchardt (1842-1927) and as a librarian in the Manuscript Department of the Graz University Library. In the 1990s she worked on several development cooperation projects in Latin America (Brazil, Nicaragua) and taught Development Studies in various universities. She carried out extensive research in countries including Italy, France, Spain, Portugal, Latin America, India and Canada.

In 1990 she joined the Department of Translation Studies, University of Graz, as a lecturer and in 1992 was appointed as a senior researcher. Since 2001 she has held a full-time research and teaching position at the University of Graz. Her postdoctoral research, completed in 2006, was dedicated to translation and interpreting activity in the Habsburg Monarchy (Die vielsprachige Seele Kakaniens. Übersetzen und Dolmetschen in der Habsburgermonarchie 1848-1918, Cologne 2012). In 2013, she served as Chair Professor of CETRA.

Areas of teaching and research are the sociology of translation, aspects of cultural studies in translation, translation history, feminist translation, translation and migration/exile. Presently her research focuses on interpreting and translating in Nazi concentration camps and on the communication between the interbrigades during the Spanish Civil War. She has been a visiting professor in various universities and until 2012 was co-editor, with Kate Sturge, of the journal Translation Studies, published by Routledge. She is also the editor of the book series "representation - transformation. Translating Across Cultures and Societies", published by LIT, Münster and Vienna, and serves as a member of several Advisory Boards.

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr.phil.

Michaela Wolf

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr.phil. Michaela Wolf

Institut für Theoretische und Angewandte Translationswissenschaft

Phone:+43 316 380 - 2672
Mobile:43 (0) 676 925 3339


Derzeit entfallen krankheitshalber meine Sprechstd. Ich bitte trotzdem um Kontaktaufnahme per Mail.

End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Additional information:


End of this page section.

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Inhalt:

Curriculum Vitae

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Michaela Wolf ist am Institut für Theoretische und Angewandte Translationswissenschaft der Universität Graz tätig.
1979 schloss sie ihr Studium für ÜbersetzerInnen- und DolmetscherInnenausbildung an der Universität Graz (Italienisch und Englisch) ab und arbeitete in verschiedenen Unternehmen als Dolmetscherin und Übersetzerin. Ihre Dissertation schloss sie 1986 am Institut für Romanistik ab (Renaissanceliteratur; Italienisch und Spanisch).

Zwischen 1987 und 1991 arbeitete sie in einem Projekt des Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung zur Bearbeitung des Nachlasses Hugo Schuchardt und als Bibliothekarin in der Handschriftenabteilung der Universitätsbibliothek. In den 1990er Jahren Mitarbeit in verschiedenen Projekten der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in Lateinamerika (Brasilien, Nicaragua) und unterrichtete an mehreren Universitäten Entwicklungspolitik. Zahlreiche Auslandsaufenthalte u.a. in Italien, Frankreich, Spanien, Portugal, Lateinamerika, Indien, Kanada zu Forschungszwecken.

Ab 1990 unterrichtete sie am Institut für Translationswissenschaft der Universität Graz; ab 1992 als Forschungsassistentin. Seit 2001 ist sie ganztägig als Universitätsassistentin in Forschung und Lehre tätig. Ihre Habilitation (2006) widmete sich dem Thema Translation in der Spätphase der Habsburgermonarchie (Die vielsprachige Seele Kakaniens. Übersetzen und Dolmetschen in der Habsburgermonarchie 1848-1918, Köln 2012). 2013 war sie Chair Professor von CETRA.

Forschungs- und Lehrschwerpunkte sind Übersetzungssoziologie, kulturwissen-schaftliche Ansätze des Übersetzens, Geschichte der Translation, Feministische Übersetzungswissenschaft, Übersetzen und Migration/Exil, Dolmetschen und Übersetzen in Kriegs- und Konfliktzonen. Gegenwärtig arbeitet sie zur Dolmetsch- und Übersetzungstätigkeit unter den Interbrigaden im Spanischen Bürgerkrieg sowie zur Translation in Konzentrationslagern des Nazi- Regimes. Sie war Gastprofessorin an verschiedenen Universitäten und gab bis 2012 gemeinsam mit Kate Sturge die Zeitschrift Translation Studies, Routledge, heraus. Des Weiteren ist sie Herausgeberin der Buchreihe "representation - transformation. Translating Across Cultures and Societies" im LIT Verlag, Münster/Wien, und ist Mitglied verschiedener Beiräte von Zeitschriften und Buchreihen.

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr.phil.

Michaela Wolf

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr.phil. Michaela Wolf

Institut für Theoretische und Angewandte Translationswissenschaft

Telefon:+43 316 380 - 2672
Mobil:43 (0) 676 925 3339


Derzeit entfallen krankheitshalber meine Sprechstd. Ich bitte trotzdem um Kontaktaufnahme per Mail.

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Zusatzinformationen:


Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.