End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Contents:

Welcome to my Webpage

Head of the Regional Climate Research Group

I am Associate Professor at the Wegener Center for Climate and Global Change and head of the Regional Climate Research Group.

My research interests focus on regional climatic changes and methods to assess these. I am particularly interested in extreme precipitation, its natural variability and its response to global warming. In parallel I have been working on the evaluation of regional climate models. More recently I have become interested in researching how future weather might manifest: will the character of storms, precipitation or droughts change?

Beyond the purely scientific basic research I collaborate with stakeholders in politics and administration and transfer my knowledge to the general public. Currently I am involved as lead author in the upcoming sixths assessment report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

In the BSc and MSc programmes on Environmental System Sciences and Atmospheric Physics and Climate I teach Atmospheric Dynamics, Climate System and Climate Change, Regional Climate Change, Cloud Physics and Climate Modeling.

Douglas Maraun

Associate Professor

Wegener Center for Climate and Global Change
Brandhofgasse 5
8010 Graz

Phone:+43 (0)316 380 - 8448
Fax:+43 (0)316 380 - 9830

News

New book:

D. Maraun & Martin Widmann, Statistical Downscaling and Bias Correction for Climate Research, Cambridge University Press, 2017 (link).

 

New perspective article about bias correction:

D. Maraun, T.G. Shepherd, M. Widmann, G. Zappa, D. Walton, J.M. Gutierrez, S. Hagemann, I. Richter, P.M.M. Soares, A. Hall and L.O. Mearns: Perspective: Towards process informed bias correction of climate change simulations, Nat. Clim. Change 7, 764-773, 2017 (link).

End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Additional information:


End of this page section.

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Inhalt:

Willkommen auf meiner Webseite

Leiter der Forschungsgruppe Regionales Klima

Ich bin Associate Professor am Wegener Center für Klima und Globalen Wandel und leite die Forschungsgruppe Regionales Klima.

Mein Forschungsinteresse konzentriert sich auf regionale Klimaänderungen und Methoden, diese abzuschätzen. Insbesondere beschäftige ich mich mit Extremniederschlägen, deren natürlichen Schwankungen und ihre Änderungen durch den menschgemachten Klimawandel. Parallel dazu habe ich in den letzten Jahren zur Evaluierung von regionalen Klimamodellen gearbeitet. Seit einiger Zeit wächst mein Interesse an der Erforschung, wie sich das Wetter in Europa in der Zukunft verändern könnte: wird sich der Charakter von Stürmen, Niederschlägen oder Dürren ändern?

Jenseits der rein wissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung arbeite ich mit Politik und Verwaltung zusammen und vermittele mein Wissen der breiten Öffentlichkeit. Zur Zeit arbeite ich als einer der Leitautoren am kommenden Weltklimabericht des Weltklimarats IPCC.

In den Studiengängen Umweltsystemwissenschaften unf Atmospheric Physics and Climate unterrichte ich zu den Themen Atmosphärendynamik, Klimasystem und Klimawandel, Regionaler Klimawandel, Wolkenphysik und Klimamodellierung.

Assoz. Prof. Dr.

Douglas Maraun

Wegener Center for Climate and Global Change
Brandhofgasse 5
8010 Graz

Telefon:+43 (0)316 380 - 8448
Fax:+43 (0)316 380 - 9830

Aktuelles

Neues Buch:

D. Maraun & Martin Widmann, Statistical Downscaling and Bias Correction for Climate Research, Cambridge University Press, 2017 (link).

 

Neuer Perspektiven-Artikel zu Bias Korrektur erschienen:

D. Maraun, T.G. Shepherd, M. Widmann, G. Zappa, D. Walton, J.M. Gutierrez, S. Hagemann, I. Richter, P.M.M. Soares, A. Hall and L.O. Mearns: Perspective: Towards process informed bias correction of climate change simulations, Nat. Clim. Change 7, 764-773, 2017 (link).

 

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Zusatzinformationen:


Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.