Begin of page section: Sub navigation:

End of this page section.
Go to overview of page sections.

Begin of page section: Additional information:

End of this page section.
Go to overview of page sections.

Ineke Mennen

Begin of page section: Contents:

About Ineke Mennen

Ineke Mennen is Professor of Applied English Linguistics and is based in the Department of English at the University of Graz. Before her appointment to the University of Graz in 2014, she held the Chair of Bilingualism and Linguistics in the School of Linguistics and English Language and the Centre for Bilingualism at Bangor University in the UK. She has also held positions at other universities in the UK, such as the University of Edinburgh, Newcastle University, and Queen Margret University. She has held visiting research and teaching appointments at Newcastle University, the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistcs in Nijmegen, the University of Padua, the University of Crete, the University of Malta, and the University of Patras.


Dr Mennen has published widely and has received research grants and fellowships from the Economic and Social Research Council, the Arts and Humanities Research Council, the British Academy, NHS Highland Endowment Fund, and Ataxia UK. A strong theme across her work is an interest in intonation and how it differs across languages or language varieties, how such differences are genereated in speech production, evaluated in speech perception, acquired in first or second language acquisition, and lost or broken down in conditions of attrition or speech impairment. She is co-editor of Advances in the study of bilingualism (2014) (with E.M. Thomas) and Associated Editor for the journal Phonetica.


Currently, she leads the Section of Applied English Linguistics within the Department of English. Members of this group have access to a speech laboratory for their research and teaching. The group currently consists of Dr Niamh Kelly, Dr Milena Insam, Dr Johannes Scherling, Mr Lukas Lackner, and Ms Lisa Kornder. She is currenty finishing research funded by a British Academy Mid-Career Fellowship entitled The nature of prosodic difficultues in second language learning: the case of Welsh stress. Dr Mennen has previously directed research on aspects of second language intonation, sociophonetic variation, and articulatory settings in bilinguals (see research page for more information). Dr Mennen supervises doctoral and master projects in second language speech production and perception, sociophonetics and clinical phonetics.


If you want to find out out more about Dr Ineke Mennen's research or teaching, please consult the pages on the left.

End of this page section.
Go to overview of page sections.

Begin of page section:

Dr

Ineke Mennen

Department of English Studies
Heinrichstraße 36/II/327
8010 Graz

+43 (0)316 380 - 2471


Department of English Studies
Heinrichstraße 36/II/327
8010 Graz

Office hour
Mon, 15:15-16:15
(only during term)

End of this page section.
Go to overview of page sections.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Unternavigation:

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.
Zur Übersicht der Seitenbereiche.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Zusatzinformationen:

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.
Zur Übersicht der Seitenbereiche.

Ineke Mennen

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Inhalt:

Über Ineke Mennen

Dr. Ineke Mennen ist Professorin für Angewandte Englische Sprachwissenschaft am Institut für Anglistik an der Universität Graz. Vor ihrer Berufung an die Universität Graz im Jahr 2014 war sie Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Bilingualismus und Linguistik am Institut für Linguistik und Englische Sprache sowie im Zentrum für Bilingualismus an der Bangor University in Großbritannien. Weiters bekleidete sie Positionen an anderen Universitäten des Vereinigten Königreich, unter anderem an der University of Edinburgh, der Newcastle University und der Queen Margret University. Außerdem hatte sie auch Forschungs- und Lehrprofessuren an der Newcastle University, am Max Planck Institut für Psycholinguistik in Nijmegen, an der Universität Padua, der Universität Kreta, der Universität Malta und der Unviersität Patras.

Dr. Mennen zeichnet für in weiten Kreisen bekannte Veröffentlichungen verantwortlich und hat Forschungszuschüsse und Stipendien von verschiedenen Vereinigungen erhalten, wie zum Beispiel dem Economic and Social Research Council, dem Arts and Humanities Research Council, von der British Academy, dem NHS Highland Endowment Fund oder von Ataxia UK. Ein wiederkehrendes Thema ihrer Arbeiten ist ihr Interesse an Intonation und ihren Unterschieden in verschiedenen Sprachen oder Milieusprachen. Dies inkludiert die Entstehung dieser Unterschiede im Sprachgebrauch, ihre Evaluation in der Sprachwahrnehmung, sowohl in der Erst- als auch in der Zweitsprache, sowie ihr Verlust aufgrund von Sprachbehinderung. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin des Journals Advances in the study of bilingualism (2014) (mit E.M. Thomas) und assoziierte Herausgeberin des Journals Phonetica.

Momentan leitet sie die Abteilung für Angewandte Englische Sprachwissenschaft am Institut für Anglistik. Ihre Teammitglieder haben Zugang zu einem Sprachlabor für Forschung Lehre. Das Team besteht momentan aus Dr. Niamh Kelly, Dr. Milena Insma, Dr. Johannes Scherling, Lukas Lackner und Lisa Kornder. Ineke Mennen beendet momentan ein Forschungsprojekt mit dem Titel The nature of prosodic difficultues in second language learning: the case of Welsh stress, finanziert durch das British Academy Mid-Career Fellowship. Ihre früheren Forschungen inkludieren Felder wie die Intonation in einer Zweitsprache, soziophonetische Variationen und artikulatorische Eigenschaften im Bilingualismus. Dr. Mennen betreut Master- und Doktorarbeiten und –projekte in den Gebieten „Sprachproduktion in einer Zweitsprache“, „Sprachwahrnehmung“, „Soziophonetik“ sowie „Klinische Phonetik“.

Weitere Informationen über Dr. Ineke Mennens Forschung oder ihre Lehre finden Sie über die Navigationsleiste links.

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.
Zur Übersicht der Seitenbereiche.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs:

Dr.

Ineke Mennen

Institut für Anglistik
Heinrichstraße 36/II/327
8010 Graz

+43 (0)316 380 - 2471


Institut für Anglistik
Heinrichstraße 36/II/327
8010 Graz

Sprechstunde
Mo., 15:15-16:15
(nur während des Semesters)

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.
Zur Übersicht der Seitenbereiche.